Kodak TMAX 400 - Film Gallery

User Reviews

Submit Review
4.8
Rated 4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5 stars (based on 8 reviews)
Excellent75%
Very good25%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Submit Your Review

Close

#1 B&W

Rated 5 out of 5
June 2, 2022

Tmax is hands down my favorite black and white film. For being a 400 speed film, it is incredibly “clean”, and the contrast is second to none. Please try it if you haven’t already.

Kyle Wright

Favourite black and white film

Rated 5 out of 5
November 30, 2021

I love T-Max, even if it a very “clean” film, it does have soul with wonderful contrast perfect for portraits, urban spaces and landscapes. I shoot it always with my meterless Leica, and even if I must make mistakes time to time I have never had any problem with its latitude (I use 16 sunny rule with one or two stops of overexposure and never found a problem)

Oriol Castells

By far, the best Black and White film for everyday shooting

Rated 5 out of 5
October 22, 2021

I always keep a camera loaded with T-Max 400. It’s fine grained and incredibly sharp. Shadow details just seem to go on forever but still with snappy contrast.

Tom S.

Great b/w film

Rated 5 out of 5
August 24, 2021

in sunlight, has lots of contrast. in low light conditions, detail still comes out. great grain, great look!

@lindy___c

Super Fine Grain Makes Me Love It For Street Photography

Rated 4 out of 5
October 6, 2020

Perfect to shoot in a city with varying light situations. Too bright? Enjoy some wonderful fine grain highlights. Too dark/w shadows? Enjoy some wonderful contrast and beautiful shadow details. Great film to pick up, very versatile. You won’t regret it!

21 Frames

Excellent Results

Rated 5 out of 5
May 19, 2020

Dramatic, contrasty, and low grain. I love the look of this film!

Scott

My favorite black & white film

Rated 5 out of 5
February 2, 2020

This is my go-to black & white film when I shoot 135. I tried to like Tri-X but it’s just too punchy for me at times and also too grainy in 35mm. I prefer to have control over the contrast level in post (digital as well as darkroom printing) so the medium contrast comes in handy.
Shoot it in my M2 that’s got no light meter and I rarely get any frames I can’t use, which speaks for a decent amount of exposure latitude.
I especially started liking this film after I changed over from Rodinal to XTOL, which gives it a much better mid-tone range and less grain while staying super sharp. Killer combo. The grain is just visible without being disturbing to the eye.

@six_silver_salt_squares

No Title

Rated 4 out of 5
September 27, 2019

Always liked this better than Tri-X, but less than HP5.
The grain is moderatem- sometimes hard to get a sharp image. The contrast is moderate.
Affordable!

tyler belcher