close

ILFORD FP4 125 - Film Gallery

User Reviews

Submit Review
4.7
4.7 rating
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 10 reviews)
Excellent80%
Very good10%
Average10%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Submit Your Review

Close

Excellent Quality

5.0 rating
September 9, 2020

I ran a roll of this film through in Olympus OM-10. Results were good and grain is very pleasing. I did not do any exposure compensation I just stuck with the aperture priority.

Rob Knight

One of two Favorite B&W Films

5.0 rating
August 14, 2020

This film is a good deal (cheaper than most other Ilford and Kodak B&W films) and is a great option for a slower speed film. 35mm version has noticeable but pleasing grain. In 120 the grain is hardly noticeable when exposed properly. It has beautiful tones and good contrast at box speed.

Shawn Pray

Average, but better than Kodak b&w

3.0 rating
July 18, 2020

I just started shooting film again in 2020 and I’ve been making the rounds of various B&W films. So far, Ilford FP4 is the runner up to my current favorite Bergger. The Ilford results were typical of what I remember from 35 years ago when I was developing my own film and prints. Grain structure was good and contrast was average. I love contrasty images, so average contrast is a bit of a disappointment.
But I was more disappointed with Tri-X and TMax. I didn’t particularly like these films 35 years ago, but they seem even more disappointing now. But most disappointing was the Fuji Acros II, which everyone told me I would love, but I hated the dull, “muddy” images.

Thomas Janowski

Amazing attitude, contrast and tones

4.0 rating
January 31, 2020

As a long time HP5 shooter this film came as a pleasant surprise. It has the same (if not more) attitude than HP5 but a gritty contrast and grain. It looks amazing and reminded me more of large format photography than 120. It has that old school ‘film look’…. if that makes sense. I just wish they make it with an ISO of 400 vs the 125.

Paul Petch

Particular but amazing

5.0 rating
January 28, 2020

This is one of my favorite portrait films. It tends to have really nice whites and blacks. The mid-tones seem to flow a little better in harsh lighting conditions for me. I tend to use this film when I know I might take portraits in harsh lighting. in gray Skys or more mellow lighting I tend to reach for a trix400 or hp5.

Robert Chestnut

Outstanding.

5.0 rating
November 12, 2019

This is one of my go-tos from Ilford I enjoy the latitude, the clarity, and the intensity. I highly recommend this film for any black-and-white project you have in mind. I always have mine developed as a positive. The results are indescribable.

Randy Jiner

Wonderful FP-4

5.0 rating
November 12, 2019

I started using FP-4 back in the late 70’s. I’ve used a smorgasbord of developers with it but stayed with Rodinal and ASA 100 or 64 for overcast days and it’s always been superb as to shadow content, no blocked highlights and tonal range 2nd to none. A great film that I hope continues forever.

David

No Title

5.0 rating
September 28, 2019
Kiarash

My favorite 100(ish) iso film

5.0 rating
September 27, 2019

Absolutely bulletproof film. Holds highlights & shadow details. Strong contrast but still has nice mid tones. Has enough of that classic B&W grit but cleaner than Tri-X or HP5+. Spectacular film for harsh sun & it can be bulk rolled for a great price. Lays flat for scanning as well.

Eric

This is an excellent film

5.0 rating
September 27, 2019

This film was one of the first black and white films I tried, when coming back to film in general. Shot at box speed, it has pleasant grain, and (to me) beautiful tone, especially in sunlight. Forgiving, and produced great results.

John Pokrzywa