Kodak TMAX 100 - Film Gallery

User Reviews

Submit Review
4.5
4.5 rating
4.5 out of 5 stars (based on 8 reviews)
Excellent75%
Very good13%
Average0%
Poor12%
Terrible0%

Submit Your Review

Close

Favorite 120 B&W film.

5.0 rating
September 11, 2021

Low grain, high sharpness, high contrast with plenty of mid-tone detail. My go-to B&W when shooting with Mamiya RB67.

Greg Tamura

As near perfect as I could ask

5.0 rating
June 22, 2021

I was for many years an FP4 devotee oin 35mm; when I moved to medium format about 15 years ago I tried several films, including Delta 100, Acros 100, BW400CN, Neopan 100 and PanF, all in D76 (which had been my main developer for years) and Xtol. Tmax100 in Xtol produced exceptional results, way better in my view than any of the other combinations I tested. Since then it has been my principal film for both medium and large format.

Simon Rodan

Below average

2.0 rating
July 18, 2020

Tri-X was my go-to film during my college days. TMax came out a year after I graduated college. Tri-X was always okay but my results were mixed. When I first tried TMax I couldn’t figure out what the hype was about. TMax, in my opinion, was different but no improvement over Tri-X. Living in a small town, there were’t many film choices. I stuck with Tri-X, but still was never thrilled with it.
I eventually gravitated to Kodak HIE b&w infrared. Even with the extra care needed in handling, it became my black and white film of choice for many years. The images produced were high contrast and unusual. A far cry from run of the mill and totally boring TMax.
Today, with online ordering, my choices are so much better than 35 years ago. There are much better films out there…such as Bergger.

Thomas R Janowski

My new favorite film!

5.0 rating
July 14, 2020

I’m just in love with how sharp it is. Grain is low using the sunny 16 rule, and it has nice contrast.

Kelly daugherty

Such Fine Grain

5.0 rating
February 12, 2020

I love me some TMax. The fine grain and clarity is my favorite thing about this film. Currently it’s my favorite 100 speed film out there. I prefer Tmax for the fine grain over Ilford Fp4. This film has been a favorite of mine for the past 20 years.

Mary Bozzelli

The only film I have used for decades - can be pushed/pulled at will

5.0 rating
November 15, 2019

I have been a pro for 20 years, and there is no better film for landscape photography. Fine grain, razor sharp and can be pushed or pulled at will. During that time I have sold 7 figures of my prints, and been published on 6 continents using my fav TMX 100! Numbers don’t lie!

Robert Buelteman

Meh.

4.0 rating
November 12, 2019

Don’t get me wrong-this is a fine film. It will do just about anything you want it to, but I would call it serviceable rather than outstanding. If I want black and white I will go to Ilford every time. Everyone has a different idea about stuff though. Don’t sell it short. It’s just not my favorite.

Randy Jiner

One Of My Favorites

5.0 rating
September 27, 2019

TMY and TRI-X are my two favorites. I love TMY in a lot of situations especially pushed to 1600. I love the contrast and grain when pushed and lack of grain when not.

Larry Leone