Kodak Portra 800 - Film Gallery

User Reviews

Submit Review
4.7
4.7 rating
4.7 out of 5 stars (based on 7 reviews)
Excellent86%
Very good0%
Average14%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Submit Your Review

Close

Nice looking film.

5.0 rating
July 21, 2020

This film is very nice tones and it’s very pleasing grain current 800 ISO film.

Rob Knight

Amazing color

5.0 rating
July 18, 2020

I recently shot a roll of Portra 800 in a Rollei 35S and the results were amazing. The color was by far the best I can remember for color negative film.
I was never one to shoot much color negative film. My color films were Kodachrome 25 & 64 and Velvia 50. I loved the punch of color from those films, but Portra delivers an actual representation of the colors in a scene. The exposure latitude seems huge as I’m seeing great detail in shadows and highlights. Will definitely shoot Portra 800 again.

Thomas R Janowski

Definitely a great stock, but I don't see a reason to choose this over Lomo 800

3.0 rating
February 1, 2020

This is undoubtedly great 800 speed film, but Lomo 800 is in my opinion nearly as good and costs considerably less (less than half in some places). The only time I’d consider shooting P800 is if Lomo800 is somehow unobtainable. That’s not to say that P800 is a bad film- more that Lomo 800 is considerably better than expected. There’s definitely not enough of a diference to warrant double the price.

D

Great in 120, Grainy, but beautiful in 35mm

5.0 rating
November 14, 2019

I shot this film in 120 and 35mm. When using flash in 35mm, it can reduce the grain somewhat, but it will still be there. I don’t mind the grain. Skin tones are fantastic in the right light. Colors are quite accurate, and flash will brighten the color palette.

Thomas Cowing

This film is for low light

5.0 rating
September 27, 2019

This film is for great for indoor and with minimal flash especially indoor sports film photography with minimal or no flash when at 800 to 1600. Also it’s also great for low light photography with better shutter speed.
I also went to my senior prom on May 31, 2019 to shoot Portra 800 with flash when it’s pitch dark and had to use the video light and flash to focus better and shutter and also the golden hour (sunset) in prom and the results were great and my friends enjoyed my pictures that I shot. Very satisfied my work.
I totally recommend to shoot film in golden hour to lowlight photography and some certain sports photography. 😊😊💙💙

Sergio Bolaños

The Professional

5.0 rating
September 19, 2019

This film is simply sublime. Great in 35mm but shines in 120. Minimal grain with excellent saturation. Perfect for those night time shoots photographing neon lights. Give off a classic Hollywood look without halation. Great for portraits as well for its ability to render true to life skin tones. Not cheap but worth every penny.

David Orr

My favorite color film for 120!

5.0 rating
August 15, 2019

I love shoot Portra 800 in 120 since the grain is barely noticeable and the 800 iso makes it very versatile for my medium format cameras that don’t have fast lenses. This film is amazing for portraits and ideal for lowlight hand-held shooting.

Trev